County Profiles

The Madison Region, which includes the counties of Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Green, Iowa, Jefferson, Rock, and Sauk, is a diverse region that includes 81 villages, 167 towns, and 40 cities.

The communities that make up the eight-county Madison Region are rich with variety. From the southern-most border of Rock County, located less than an hour away from Chicago, to the northern borders of Sauk and Columbia counties, the region embraces deeply held values of work ethic, small town friendliness, and stewardship.

The counties’ urban centers, including Madison, Janesville, and Beloit, as well as the smaller rural communities, enjoy diverse cultural opportunities, breathtaking scenery, and strong education systems.

Discover why so many communities in the greater Madison area have ranked among the top in America.

2010 Population: 1,000,187
2016 Population: 1,047,191

Demographics of the Madison Region

Labor Force
Labor Force Profile of the Madison Region




Find out why people & businesses thrive here.

Download the Madison Region brochure.

Download the Madison Region Profile to learn more.